Chinese and Purple

Okay, this is not because I’m influenced by my two recent photo uploads on Facebook, both of which purple (photos below). But I’ve been seeing lots of purple on Shanghai streets. I should start taking pictures (because otherwise no one will believe me! – why won’t you believe me?) I’ve been questioning if it’s because it’s winter and according to ‘experts’, purple is a winter color. Or if it’s a general Shanghainese/Chinese preference.

Now, Nike’s putting out their limited edition sneakers, which in the US are black/yellow and black/green (boring if you ask me), will be silver/purple here in China, allegedly inspired by Chinese porcelain.

Well, purple is a royal color in the West … am I missing a connection here? Or am I reading too much or too little into it? Mental note: more investigation needed.

Alright … here are Nike’s purple, and my two most recent purples.

Nike's Kobe Bryant limited edition for China

Nike's Kobe Bryant limited edition for China in silver and purple

Purple furry Mickey for warm happy feet this winter in SH

Purple furry Mickey sandals for warm happy feet this winter in SH

Totally not a dessert person, but I couldn't resist this PURPLE TARO THING.

Totally not a dessert person, but I couldn't resist this PURPLE TARO THING.

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in culture, discovery, ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

