Facebook everywhere

So last night I discovered I could link Skype to my Facebook updates, so that while I was chatting with people who mattered more, I could also keep tabs on everyone else. Hmm, those updates might even provide material for conversation (in short, gossip >_<)

Facebook updates in Skype

Facebook updates in Skype

And today while browsing Engadget, I was quite shocked  to find my Facebook updates appearing on the right-hand column. I must have “allowed” Engadget to access my updates at some point. After some scrutiny, they are my friends’ recommendations of Engadget content, telling me what my friends have been reading and what they might like (although it’s not quite likely I can get anyone that cool new DSLR … )

Facebook in Engadget tells us what our friends recommend on Engadget

Facebook in Engadget tells us what our friends recommend on Engadget

I went to check with the New York Times too. And found the juxtaposition of these “Most Popular” topics and ad banner quite interesting, triggering thoughts about what “Popular on Facebook” says about going trends with the FB crowd, compared to what “Most Emailed” says about the email crowd, or what “Most Blogged” says about the bloggers and their audience. Who actually clicks on online ad banners?

Which will be the most influential? What does the content of each of these media tell us about the kind of people they appeal to, which way trends are going for each segment?

Which will be the most influential? What does the content of each of these media tell us about the kind of people they appeal to, which way trends are going for each segment?

And one final parting thought: I wonder, if eventually no matter where we are on the worldwide web, Facebook is always there, would that mean that Facebook has already taken over the worldwide web? Essentially, yes, because we always tend to follow the links that our friends post (people of the same feather flock together), and Facebook becomes the social search engine like they boasted about a couple of months ago.

It’s a future of hiving. See how it’s appearing in different facets of our lives (not just teenagers’), or should I say reappearing, since a long time ago people hived too before they decided to show some individuality, got lost and realized no man was an island. Facebook understood it before anyone else.

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in culture, ramblings, social media. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook everywhere

  1. Pingback: No sweat, I like | a collection of wanton thots in shanghai

Leave a Reply

