IM customer service

This morning, I wanted to check with China Telecom to find out if it’d be okay to unplug the internet box while I’m away in Singapore over the Chinese New Year period to save electricity, and that I’d still find my internet working properly upon return. Later, I found out that this must have sounded like a ridiculous question because the customer service officer I spoke to said I must have unplugged before so it’d be the same, there wouldn’t be any problem. And I told him I had never unplugged before which was the truth.

Well, if I’m overly cautious, it’s understandably so after almost 3 weeks of haggling with internet and computer problems after I went away on one short business during the final days of 2010, which involved CT’s technician laboring over reconnecting me for a couple of hours, numerous trips to our MIS department, one trip to our service center, a few re-installations of my laptop’s OS, and countless downtime, confusion, heartache, and telling people that I was facing computer and internet problems so many times, to the point that I was myself dubious if I was telling the truth because the problem had ensued for so long. So this time I just wanted to be safe. I hope I won’t get home on Feb 7 to find my internet in shambles again.

Well, anyway, that was beside the point. I spoke with CT’s service and repair center’s guy after the online customer service person couldn’t help me. It’s rather cool, they actually have real-time online service through instant messaging. The first time I had encountered this was on a hotel’s website last year during a business trip. I haven’t noticed such a service format elsewhere though … is there such a thing in Singapore? If not, could this have sprung from the Chinese’s love of online messaging that makes it more efficient to help customers this way? And easier to refer customers to certain websites or ask them for screen captures to show error messages. Hmm, just thought it’s interesting, because I honestly do hate to call service centers and be on the line listening to a string of mechanical voices before anyone real attends to you.

China Telecom's online service via instant messaging

China Telecom's online service via instant messaging

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in internet, ramblings, service, web. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

