Saturday night live

I met up with my friend Piotr again last Saturday (he wants to enjoy as much of Shanghai before he leaves end of this month) armed with this itinerary for the evening: art, choc, Korean food and da club.

The art part was rather below our expectations despite its lofty theme (literally, it’s about rooms). We spent RMB20 each and maybe half an hour going through fewer than ten rather uninspiring exhibits. Quite a bummer.

But the chocolates soon spiced the evening up. OH MY GOD.

hof

Yummy, nuff said.

hof interiors

HOF's cozy interiors.

I know we had it totally upside down, but we headed for dinner after filling ourselves out with dessert at HOF’s on Sinan Road. After all the sweets (I’m not a sweet person mind you) I was dying for some burning hot Korean chilli served by the equally hot Korean owner at Annion in Jiashan Market. That’s all a girl can ask for honestly.

A pure coincidence, my friend KQ from Singapore is buddies with the owners of this restaurant. But we didn't bump into him here that day.

A pure coincidence, my friend KQ from Singapore is buddies with the owners of this restaurant. But we didn't bump into him here that day.

It was still too early for da club, so we decided to head over next door to Cafe Sambal for some Malaysian dessert. Very excitedly I helped Piotr order two of my favorite desserts from home – kuih dadar and bubur cha-cha. Both were very disappointing. The kuih has a Gula Melaka-sweetened grated coconut filling, which when done properly, would be moist, smooth and savory. Cafe Sambal’s version was dry and unflavorful. The bubur cha-cha was worse. I was ready to forgive the missing Gula Melaka in the coconut milk broth until I bit into the yam chunk. It tasted as if the yam was just thrown in after our order was taken – it was so undercooked it felt almost raw. Good Piotr finished the bowl as I felt embarassed at making him eat such substandard dessert from my hometown which actually cost a few times more what I’d get back in Malaysia.

Totally unimpressed by Cafe Sambal, I'm not sure if I'm ever returning again. Definitely not for the dessert.

Totally unimpressed with Cafe Sambal, I'm not sure if I'm ever returning again. Definitely not for the dessert.



We walked out into the cold night, headed for some hot action at The Shelter on Yongfu Rd.

Hard-working club staff

Hard-working club staff. Love the posters in the back.

Party goers lounging before the party really got started past midnight.

Party goers lounging before the party really got started past midnight.

We danced to our might that night

We danced to our might that night.

There were several DJs spinning. After a few changes, the music started to just drone on and the drum n bass no longer gave us the kick, so we decided to head home. 3 am, not bad, although we had wanted to pull an all-nighter. Maybe on Feb 26 when “Japan’s #1 DJ and King of Indie Dance” Shinichi Osawa spins.

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in clubs, food, friends, ramblings, urban. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

