Lunch at Lynnette’s

My good friend Lynnette recently finished renovations at her new home, which she also calls the EcoSoho. This project is well-documented on her website, so do check it out to find out how you can make a cozy home out of very tight budget.

Lynnette made vegetarian tom yam (with a dash of soy sauce) hotpot and chawanmushi for lunch. Simple, yet a thoroughly enjoyable home-cooked fare I haven’t been able to enjoy here in Shanghai.

I can have this everyday, no doubt.

In spite of Lynnette’s disclaimer that these are ‘fake’ chawanmushis, they are quite delicious.

Lynnette loves vintage. And I love how she turned these tin mugs into lamp shades. No doubt a former IDEO designer of high calibre 🙂

She also has a collection of vintage toys. This bunny here is actually an electronic lantern. The unique part is that, the bunny has wheels for legs (see the red wheels on the hind legs and the ball up front), so one can pull her around like how one would walk a puppy. Of course, it will light up and a cheery music would play. Dang, I shoulda gotten a picture, or a video, of it in motion.

Browsing Lynnette’s bookshelf, this book caught my eye – “The Art of Racing in the Rain“. It reminded me of Sam’s “walking between raindrops”. Quickly, I removed it from the shelf and read the summary. About a dog who talks! In love already. Lynnette said I could borrow it. I said, it’d be months before you see it again. I’ll probably bring it with me to the USA, I added. Lynnette then had this fantabulous idea for me to take a photo of this book at places I travel to during my trip – the traveling book – and that is what I will surely do 🙂

An excerpt I lifted from Amazon:

“Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.”

The book at home, before it goes on an American Northeast journey with me next month 🙂

Coffee break right after lunch, in the company of two dogs. There are no rules on Saturday afternoons.

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in books, food, friends, home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lunch at Lynnette’s

  1. Lynnette says:

    Help me put stickers inside the book? I love stickers (on books, not products though)! Happy travelling. And thank you for the post. I see new things I never observe myself! Xie xie very much.

  2. Lynnette says:

    Good question. Though I count my blessings on a daily basis, I still missed out counting the blessing of the…

    1. The funky rabbit lantern I have
    2. The edible vegetarian tom yum soup I can cook (with thanks to VN for her “donation”)
    3. My cooking brings a special moment for you in Shanghai (certainly thanks to the chili from my beloved teacher)
    4. “designer of high calibre”… Wow. Big thank you. 😉 (drilling done by a guy I nick-named 千里马)

    Thank you for the post. Appreciate. It’s like seeing myself from another angle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

