Fancy Treat

My birthday was arranged by dear friend Jaime. He showed up with 2 Colombian friends, Juan and Giling, Our mutual friends, Laura and Chen Pei, also came. And I also invited my dear colleague-friend, Crystal and her hubby Andy, rounding up the number to a lucky 8 (though my lucky number is really 9, so it’d be really cool if Animesh was able to make it!).

It was at a place called Ambrosia Teppanyaki@Expo. From the name, you’d have been informed it’s somewhere within the former Expo park which the authorities are developing into a high-end F&B hangout in Shanghai. It was definitely one of the fancier places I’ve been to in Shanghai, thanks to my lovely friends who picked up the tab.

Dinner kicked off with this bite-sized fruit scoop.

Dinner kicked off with this bite-sized fruit scoop.

While we dipped our taste buds into the citrus scoop, the chef was busy with some egg shells.

While we dipped our taste buds into the citrus scoop, the chef was busy with some egg shells.

Ta da! The eggshells, perfectly sliced open, were actually chawanmushi, topped with caviar and whatnot (I know! I waste food, right, half the time I don't know what I'm eating >_<")

Ta da! The eggss, perfectly sliced open, were really chawanmushi, topped with caviar and whatnot (I know! I waste food, right, half the time I don’t know what I’m eating >_<“)

While we enjoyed the chawanmushis, and throwing each other questions as awkward as can be, the chef was busy decorating the plates. (We were so noisy, we must have collected enough laughter to power an entire village!)

While we enjoyed the chawanmushis, and throwing each other questions as awkward as can be, the chef was busy decorating the plates. (We were so noisy, we must have collected enough laughter to power an entire village last night!)

After the chawanmushis came the soup. Most restaurants don't serve steaming hot soup, this one is no different. I really wish they would change and give me steaming hot soup!

After the chawanmushis came the soup. Most restaurants don’t serve steaming hot soup, this one is no different. I really wish they would change and give me steaming hot soup!

Wow, he's finally scooping something onto the plates, and man, it looks delicious!

Wow, he’s finally scooping something onto the plates, and man, it looks delicious!

The fish fillet and the huge succulent prawn. Both very fresh and juicy. Love it.

The fish fillet and the huge succulent prawn. Both very fresh and juicy. Love it.

I think this is foie gras (goose liver). Personally, I wouldn't have ordered a menu with this thing on it.

I think this is foie gras (goose liver). Personally, I wouldn’t have ordered a menu with this thing on it.

The beef was great! So were the fried garlic pieces.

The beef was great! So were the fried garlic pieces.

Strangely, even with all the good food, I think I enjoyed this simple dish the most (well, maybe apart from the seafood). The fruits and the salad wrap were very refreshing.

Strangely, even with all the good food, I think I enjoyed this simple dish the most (well, maybe apart from the seafood). The fruits and the salad wrap were very refreshing.

The dinner wound down with this cut fruit platter. Feels like it's been customized for me - crescent moon and stars feels like Malaysia, the sakura is Japan, now, the strawberry puzzles me ... ^_^

The dinner wound down with this cut fruit platter. Feels like it’s been customized for me – crescent moon and stars feels like Malaysia, the sakura is Japan, now, the strawberry puzzles me … ^_^

I suppose the popcorn is the most puzzling of em all! Chinese hotpot restaurant 海底捞 are the ones that serve popcorn at the end of the meal. I don't know why this high-end restaurant decides this is also cool for them!

I suppose the popcorn is the most puzzling of em all! Chinese hotpot restaurant 海底捞 are the ones that serve popcorn at the end of the meal. I don’t know why this high-end restaurant decides this is also cool for them!

The gang adjourned to a bar on Yongjia Lu after dinner. The Roof was overcrowded, so we made do with one called The Fount in the same compound, which had way too few customers for a Saturday night. That suited us fine, however, since we could talk and laugh and while the night away in a really cozy and chill manner.

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in food, friends, restaurants, Shanghai Delicacies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

