Waking Mountains

Do you hear my heart beat
in tandem with my feet
searching for a road up, out and in
can’t seem to find any

Where do I go next?

Where do I go next?

Do you hear my heart scream
in tandem with my lofty dreams
bursting out of your belly seams
dancing in the sunbeam

Me against the mountains and the fields.

Me against the mountains and the fields.

The Mountain harkens back
Child, be prepared to beg
for a lesson you won’t soon forget
carry it in your deep pockets

Pockets of land belonging to different farmers.

Pockets of land belonging to different farmers.

The Mountain bellows on
1 – it’s all a matter of perspective
2 – in order to advance, you may need to retreat
3 – the road opens where your heart is willing, and your feet dare
4 – mistakes keep you humble, conceit ensnares
5 – know your limits

Multi-tiered fields are one of the unique characteristics of this Xijiang Miao Village.

Terraced rice fields are one of the unique characteristics of this Xijiang Miao Village.

A different perspective.

A different perspective.

Yet another perspective.

Yet another perspective.

Feels like I can lie down and have a nap.

Feels like I can lie down and have a nap.

Farmers' homes.

Farmers’ homes.

The glorious vista from someone's home. Envious!

The glorious vista from someone’s home. Envious!

In the fields.

In the fields.

Here's what we get to eat everyday - rice.

Here’s what we get to eat everyday – rice.

After the harvest, they have to beat out the stalks to separate grain from husk. These ladies also were the ones who beckoned me to follow them through unchartered terrains till I reached a much higher ground (to gaze down wistfully at the golden multi-tiered fields) than I would ever have if I were left to explore the mountain myself.

After the harvest, men and women have to beat out the stalks to separate grain from husk. These ladies were the ones who encouraged me to follow them through unchartered terrains till I reached a much higher ground (to gaze down wistfully at the golden tiered fields) than I would ever have if I were left to explore the mountain by myself.

Cut stalks.

Cut stalks.

Hay stacks.

Hay stacks.

A modern way of beating.

A modern way of beating.

Drying in the sun.

Drying in the sun.

Beyond the fields, kids were swimming in the creek.

Beyond the fields, kids were swimming in the creek.

Sharing the creek with Mr. Buffalo taking a dip.

Sharing the creek with Mr. Buffalo taking a dip.

Sometimes, surprises spring up from under your feet.

Sometimes, surprises spring up from under your feet.

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in culture, discovery, food, nature, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

