Cinnamon-noon

My friend Chen Pei has been talking about having a picnic starring cinnamon rolls for a few weeks now. Since a couple of us were sick over the past few weeks (thanks to the autumn chills and flu bug in the air), today we finally made it happen! Jaime came up with a homemade cinnamon website called CinnaSwirl, Chen Pei ordered half a dozen, and they got delivered right to my door steps this morning – still warm and smelling heavenly.

These were delivered to me at 8.30 AM ... you can imagine how difficult it was for me to hold off eating them till the afternoon! Luckily I had to get out of the house for a while. Half a dozen for RMB60, RMB10 for delivery. Very reasonable prices, imho.

These were delivered to me at 8.30 AM … you can imagine how difficult it was for me to hold off eating them till the afternoon! Luckily I had to get out of the house for a while. Half a dozen for RMB60, RMB10 for delivery. Very reasonable prices, imho.

I live near a park, so we decided to have the picnic there this week (the plan is to park hop before winter strikes us hard! With a different snack everytime … ooooooooo).

The 梦清园 park nestled in the river bend.

The 梦清园 park nestled in the river bend.

Today was only the third time I’ve been to this lovely park. The last time I was here was September last year, with Pei Pei and Drew (the first time she introduced me to her boyfriend!). And exactly today when I’m there again, the couple is having their wedding in Atlanta, Georgia. I should have been there at their wedding! But work commitment has made it not possible … it does make one think, though, how much of our lives is controlled by our work, and only how little does it really belong to us? This ain’t right, right?

Here's what it looks like roughly, some green foliage among a concrete jungle that is made up of apartment blocks (in one of them I live)

Here’s what it looks like roughly, some green foliage among a concrete jungle that is made up of apartment blocks (in one of them I live)

And while I was strolling in the park with Pei Pei and Drew last year, far away in Singapore’s Gleneagles Hospital, my little niece Hoo Ching came into this world. Today, she’s a little miss sunshine already ^_^

After Jaime and Chen Pei biked to my place, we walked together to the park where one of Chen Pei’s friends who lived nearby join us. And with music, cinnamon rolls, snacks from Taiwan, Singapore and Malaysia, we spent a couple of happy hours by the river.

Our stash laid out on the grass ...

Our stash laid out on the grass …

It was just awesome. More parks before winter’s come!

We had everything to smile about! Good snack great company.

We had everything to smile about! Gorgeous place, good snack, great company.

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in friends, urban and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

