Sketchy June

Two weeks ago, my friend from Chengdu, Dong, and I arranged to meet in Hong Kong for a short trip. The original intent was to catch the 1600 Panda Tour but alas, we messed up the schedule and missed the pandas. Regardless, Dong and I managed to meet up with fellow panda lover in Hong Kong, Winnie, and did our own little sketch.

The Three Musketeers

The Three Musketeers

Other than the 1600 Panda Tour, we were lucky our trip coincided with the Studio Ghibli Layout Design Exhibition (runs through end August). Being a huge fan of Ghibli productions and a doodler myself, the exhibition was very eye-opening and super awe-inspiring. Imagine, 2 walls full of sketches from Spirited Away from ceiling to floor! It was mind-blowing. It’s a pity that the Ponyo wall was a bit bare of sketches, but the full color render of the final underwater scene is just beautiful  🙂

Unfortunately, we couldn’t take any photos inside the exhibition. They did have an area outside with some Ponyo and Totoro set-ups as well as movie posters where fans can pose and bring home a few photographic souvenirs.

Ponyo is very, very special to me  ♥

Ponyo is very, very special to me ♥

That Sunday when I was in Hong Kong, was Father’s Day. It’s been way too many years that I have not been able to celebrate Father’s Day with my Pa. But that does not mean, out of sight, out of mind. Above and beyond what I’m capable of expressing in person, I will say it with my doodle and story.

When I was in high school, the New Straits Times (NST) ran the “love is …” comic strips everyday. I loved the series so much that I started collecting them, dutifully cutting the papers everyday and keeping the strips in a little pouch. Alas, soon it was time to leave home for university in Singapore. No more NST, no more “love is …” strips. When I finally went home again during the holidays, I found that Pa had saved the strips for me. He must have dutifully looked through the papers and cut them out, just like I did. To me, that was what “love is …”.

This Father’s Day, I wanna say “Thank you, Pa” for always being the silent hero. Happy Father’s Day.

Happy Father's Day! ♥

Happy Father’s Day! ♥

See more of our doodles on Project Doodle Day!

About transez

Design researcher: curious about people, passionate about life.
This entry was posted in art, doodle, family, friends, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketchy June

  1. Pingback: Youth | a collection of wanton thots in shanghai

Leave a Reply

